RSS

A/V and some comments on Apostasy

23 Jun

Two new audio sermons have been posted on the website, with some video soon to follow!

I know that some of you are upset and concerned about Kevin Cordle’s situation.  Please continue to pray for both him and his family.  I also recently received a letter from “Grace to You” that details the same type of situation:

“It grieves me to bring you sad news from within our own ministry family about someone who has walked away from the Lord. Several months ago, we received a shocking, heartbreaking letter. It was from a long-time listener and supporter of Grace to You named Steve. His short note explained in stark, simple language that he has rejected Christ, turned his back on the church, and wants nothing further to do with our ministry. He wrote:

‘Over many years I have been blessed to receive free tapes, CDs, and books from your ministry. Thank you. At the time, I really appreciated them.

Now I no longer believe in the God of the Bible or in Jesus Christ. Ten years of full-time ministry proved to me that there is no God and that the God of the Bible does not care. I now reject Christianity and have come to peace. What was at first a great loss has now turned to joy, peace, and freedom. I did not leave the faith because of some extreme sin. I left because the God of the Bible, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit are all a fantasy. I’m happy I now live in the real world.'”

Someone asked me about situations like these, and this was my response to them in an email:

“I like the contrast between ‘head’ knowledge and ‘heart’ knowledge. He may have known some things intellectually, without ever fully believing them in his heart.

John spoke about this kind of thing in 1 John 2:19:

‘They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would have continued with us. But they went out, that it might become plain that they all are not of us.’

If his conversion was genuine, then he will come back, and this will just be a dark time in his spiritual journey.  If he was not really converted, then my prayer is that he will finally repent and believe.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 23, 2009 in A/V, Issues, Theology

 

Leave a Reply

 
