RSS

Are Christians confused?

31 Aug

My journey has been long.  My upbringing was atheist/Lutheran, my commitment to God came by way of Independent Baptists, and now I’m the pastor of a Baptist General Conference church.  Along the way I’ve been concerned that evangelicals seem to confuse politics with Christianity.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my country, and I have certain political leanings.  I also believe that one of the most important things we can do as Christians is to vote for Biblically qualified candidates (whatever that means, and we could have a long discussion about that!).  But we have to understand that real change in our country can’t come about from the political process; it can only come about through changed hearts.  And changed hearts can only come as a result of the gospel message being preached.  Not nationalism,  republicanism, liberalism, or any other political movement.  I find Russell Moore to be a kindred spirit on this issue.  He has a nice commentary on the recent Tea Party event in Washington D.C.   It’s entitled, “God, the Gospel, and Glen Beck.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 31, 2010 in Culture, Issues

 

Leave a Reply

 
