RSS

Catch up on all things Billington…

24 Aug

I can’t believe that it’s really been since April that I posted a blog!  Perhaps I can give you some insight into why in this post.

I really intended on having at least one post every week when the year started, and I thought that it would be easy because I had figured out a way to cheat!  I was going to have my sermon outlines available online so that people could use them when listening on the web or the radio (per request).  Unfortunately, I found out that trying to cut and paste from Word into WordPress was not as easy as I had anticipated, and the frustration level made me give it up temporarily.  I now see that things are a little different on here, so maybe I should try again!  It also seems that the ability to post new blog entries to Facebook has been fixed as well, so I’m hopeful that this entire process has just become much less frustrating!

Sometime in April my lovely wife Valerie got sick with viral labyrinthitis, or, as the pharmacist put it, she was a dizzy dame for about six weeks!  That entailed more care from me, which morphed into even more care as the spring progressed.  Val’s grandfather died in May, and when we were on the way home from the funeral she developed a horrible earache and ended up in the emergency room.  A 2 week migraine followed, with various MRI’s and doctor’s visits.  She is fine now, but has had to work full time this summer to help pay some of our bills.  That means that some of my extra time is now spent on cooking, cleaning, and doing additional house and yard work over the summer.  Combine that with extra church services in the summer and a larger congregation to take care of, well, let’s just say that you end up making some sacrifices.  This was one of them!  I won’t say that I’m back, but I am hopeful…

As for the rest of the family, Andrew is doing great.  He just started his junior year at Clear Creek Baptist Bible College.  This summer he’s been working as a waiter at Julie’s Cafe in Fish Creek, and that will continue until October.  He’s also working as our youth director at church.  Roxanna and Zak just bought their first house, and will be staying in Green Bay for awhile.  That has entailed some extra work for us as well, since there were some problems that popped up after they moved in.  I’m happy to say that many of those problems have now been fixed, and they are finally getting to enjoy their home a little.  Oh, and they are also expecting a new arrival — their first dog!  They had a visit from a retired racing Greyhound and they loved her.  I’m sure it will be all over Facebook if they do get her.

That’s probably enough for now.  Perhaps something a little more spiritual and a lot less mundane in the future!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Family

 

2 responses to “Catch up on all things Billington…

  1. Xanna

    August 24, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    I am going to tag you in every greyhound picture.

     
  2. Connie Brown

    August 25, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Really enjoyed reading your blog and “catching up”………looking forward to future posts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
